Best 3rd party management tools?

• So I'm looking at some 3rd party tools to help me manage multiple SQL Servers (all 2008R2 64bit - looking to go right to 2012 on release) and the tools from RedGate look pretty awesome. Does anyone have any experience with them? Maybe some better recommendations? The DBA Bundle they have is what I'm looking at - it lets me do lots of stuff with monitoring and backups and appears will save me tons of time (when dealing with more than 50 instances on 2 diff servers).

Any thoughts or opinions are appreciated. Thanks!

• I've been working with Red Gate tools for 10 years now. I've been working for the company for the last nine months. I liked their software so much I went and begged for a job.

Their stuff is marvelous. But I'm not going into a sales pitch because I'm a tech geek, not a salesman. What kind of management tasks are you looking to automate? Let's focus on task. There's stuff they do well, but there are other tools out there that can do certain tasks better.

"The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood"
    - Theodore Roosevelt

Author of:
    SQL Server Execution Plans
    SQL Server Query Performance Tuning

• Hi Chris Metzger

Without second thought go with RedGate Tools i have been working redgate tool for last 2years and i feel its have everything that you might be looking and very good thing is you have packages in it so no need to worry to buy whole tool of redgate so can go with the tool you need the most.

All the best.

Thanks & Regards
    Syed Sami Ur Rehman
    SQL-Server (Developer)
    Hyderabad
    Email-sami.sqldba@gmail.com