Baseline Logfile

• Hi

I'm creating a Performance Baseline for all my SQL servers, 2 questions.

1 How do I change the location of the logfile from C:\Perflogs.... to another drive.

2. Can I create the counters on one server and then replicate it across all server(use the 1st one as a template). Instead of recreatitng one for each server from scratch as I would like to use the same counters on all servers.

Thanks

• 2. script this with something like Powershell - http://blogs.msdn.com/b/buckwoody/archive/2010/01/05/performance-counters-there-s-a-script-for-that.aspx

http://sqlblogcasts.com/blogs/sqlandthelike/archive/2009/11/30/my-first-useful-powershell-script-capturing-performance-counters.aspx

1. I think if you solve #2, #1 is easy, or you can better control where the data goes.

• Thanks.

I will look into this, unfortunately i have never used PowerShell before.

But i'll give it a try.

• There is another option: using a central management server for perfmon (perfmon can read counters from remote servers), and storing the perfmon values in a SQL database on the management server. I use this setup to monitor a limited number of (consolidated) servers; it works just fine!

A central perfmon setup has several benefits: it will allow you to monitor all monitored servers from a single point and keep one set of perfmon results for all servers combined. Also, it is easy to create and adapt counter logs for (new) servers without having to use VBS, Powershell or the like.

How to set up things?

- Pick a (management) server with SQL installed. On it,

- create an empty monitoring database;

- create an ODBC entry (system DSN) for perfmon to access the monitoring database;

- create a default perfmon Counter Log set:

- General Tab: under 'Add Counters' choose option 'Select counters from computer ..'

- General Tab: choose an 'Interval' (e.g. 10 minutes) and under 'Run As' provide a Windows account with sufficient privileges to query the remote perfmon counters