Backup Strategy - Comments?

• Hello,

I wonder if anyone would be kind enough to offer some comments? I am an Oracle DBA by trade . . .

/* there will be a pause for the hissing to die down */

. . . and I have been trying to make sure our backup strategy is decent. (SQL Server has mainly been left as a Windows sysadmin issue.)

What we are doing is a full daily backup of all databases ("master", "msdb", "model", user dbs) to disk, which is copied to a NAS. The last 28 days are kept on the NAS.

In addition there is a separate weekly tape backup using Veritas NetBackup (with the SQL Server extension).

The transaction logs for "model" and user dbs are backed up every half an hour, and the last 48 hours are kept on the NAS. (The idea is to overlap the last two full backups, in case the most recent file was bad.) This is done mainly for disaster recovery. Neither of our two instances are very busy, and the log backup size is small. There is no disaster recovery target time.

I set "model" to Full recovery mode after reading an article on MSDN about it. (can't remember where, though). I think that "master" has to remain as Simple; I am not sure about "msdb", though - should (can?) it be set to Full as well? It seems pretty important.

I have done successful test restores from the NAS files though not PIT (I want to try that this week). AFAIK no-one has ever tried to restore from NetBackup . . . :hehe:

What do experienced SQL Server DBAs think of this setup? Are there any suggestions or improvements I might make? Thanks for any feedback at all.

• Hi Marmot

This looks good for me, saying that it depends upon what the company really needs, Say i worked for a company where they dint have any backup at all ( you will rolling on ground by now), then i changed that, There was a few question that needs to be answered when considering back up and DR

(i) What kind of downtime can the company afford

(ii) How much data loss can the company afford