Backup Availability Group Database

• I am new to Availability Group, but not new to SQL Server and I want to set up a good FULL and DIFF backup of my SQL Databases

Currently we are using the Ola Hallengren SQL Database Backup script\process and I am finding it is not working well for us.

I want to create a maintenance plan that I can deploy on each node and backup all the database.  More specifically, If the job runs on the primary node - I want it to backup all AG, local and system databases and if the job runs on a secondary node I want it to backup just the local user and system databases.

I understand that creating a maintenance plan for database backup on the primary and secondary server will work fine.  It will backup all the databases.  The problem is that on the secondary node, even though the databases are backed up, the job gives a failure result.  When that happens SCOM will alert us and we do not need so many false positives.

First question.  What can i do to make the job successful on the secondary node

What I tried to using a maintenance plan

I Added an TSQL task to first determine if the node is primary or secondary

If the node is primary a precedence constraint goes to the next task Backup all database - it works fine

if the node is secondary a precedence constraint goes to a different a TSQL task with a script to backup all none AG database.

My problem is getting it to work.  I do not know if the SQL maintenance plan can work like an SSIS package and make these type of conditional logic decisions

Some of my trial include

A: I put a raiseerror in the script of my first task [check for primary] and my Precedence constraint is Primary success or Secondary Failure.  Success goes to the database backup task and failure goes to the TSQL task script to backup all local databases.  It actually worked, but a the end the job gives a failure result.