Back in the saddle

• Hi everyone! I hope some of you can help me out.

I was a database programmer for 6 years and due to illness I had to take about 6 years off. In that time 2 versions of SQL Server came about. (2005 and 2008). I really want to get back in the saddle and go back to sql programming.

Can anyone tell me where to start? I have downloaded all the free eBooks on this site and started reading. I have done everything in my position of DBA and prefer the programing rather than the administration (hardware.)

I have downloaded sql server 2008 r2 express and searched online for many tutorials. Would it be wise to download the trial sql server 2008 r2 trial version? What about 2005?

I played around with the express and I noticed that it is case sensitive. is that true? Or what was I doing wrong?

Thanks in advanced to all who can help! I have really missed programming and am anxious to get back to it full time.

• Hi Christi,

First, welcome back and congrats on beating your illness.

If you can afford it, I'd buy a copy of the "Developers Edition". I don't know what the latest price is but I've heard anywhere from $45 to $120 depending on what version you buy (2k8 is cheaper than 2k8 r2 if you can still get 2k8). Then, download the appropriate copy of "Books Online" and the "Adventure Works" database. Books Online will have some tutorials to get you started especially on the programming side of things.

Of course, this cite is excellent for information. There are a huge number of really decent articles written by some real pros. Of course, as with any site or book, there are also some "dogs".

Last but not least, some of the certification books can be a pretty big help. Of course, none of those teach some of the "black arts" that really separate the pros from the casual developers but they're very good for catching up on some of the new features.

--Jeff Moden

RBAR is pronounced "ree-bar" and is a "Modenism" for Row-By-Agonizing-Row.