Availability of SQL server when backup runs

• I need help how to prove that SQL server can do backups when it is fully accessible for the users. I know this is true, because I’m a DBA for the last 7 years, but the people in my previous company do not know that and they are terrified that SQL server will not accessible for e very long time daily.

Current situation:

I left my job 3 months ago. The new DBA insists that for doing full nightly backup he needs to put SQL server in a single user mode, all the connections have to be closed, other way he gets errors. In this situation the SQL server is inaccessible between 10 pm and 5am every day – Oh, my God, so pity for the banks’ clients…

The problem, I guess, is that he mixes DB maintenance plans procedures with the backup procedures, which do not need to be done every day for all databases at once.

The previous backup plan was as follow:

Every night full backup on all databases as they are very small – most between 300KB and 1G, transaction log backups every 20 min in the activity time between 5 am and 8 pm. 3 times/nights a week – backup master DB as there were often structural changes. Weekly maintenance and optimization plan for both users and system DBs on Sunday early in the morning. Additional checking for fragmentation, index corruption, etc. as needed. All databases were accessible 24/7, I never had a problem, several big restorations from a backup have been done, recovering data within minutes with almost no data lost. Most of the DBs are set up to allow filegroup/datafile backups, but the size right now do not require that.

My current backup plans differs a lot from this simple scenario as some of my Dbs are huge – over 500 GB.

I feel uncomfortable to make this posting and to waist everybody’s time for something so simple and well documented, but as I’m not there any longer, my colleagues - developers really need your help to have their databases available again.