Are You Empowered?

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item Are You Empowered?

• In my previous job I felt more empowered. However, that was due in large part to the fact that I was working for a small group in the university, under contract to the city. And that group was off the university campus. The work we were doing had nothing to do with the university, so we didn't need their oversight, except for networking. I wonder what it was like for developers and IT operations who did work for the university, on campus?

Where I'm working now, I'd say people don't feel empowered. There are two reasons for this that I see. First is the need to have everyone "stay in their own lane". I'm a developer, but I have experience as a DBA since I had to function in that role at my previous job. If I see something that could be improved in a database, I must keep it to myself. I can't talk to the DBAs about anything like that. My "lane" is developing applications, therefore I'm somehow incapable for recommending something to a DBA. It cuts the same way with a DBA, they can't tell me anything that would improve my coding.