Analysis Services database cube hanging

• Hi,

I am new to SQL Server and Analysis Services and one of the OLAP database just hangs when we try and do anything.  Is there any way to check for corruption or are there any utilities that we can use to see if there is something corrupt in that database?

Thanks,

Bea

Thanks!
    Bea Isabelle

• Unfortunately, not really.  One thing to check is that you have applied at leats SP3 to the Analysis Services install (installing it to your SQL instance would be a good idea also).

If you cn elaborate more on what you are trying to do?  ie trying to edit the cube; trying to process the cube' trying to access the cube via Excel etc.

Cheers,

Steve.

• try to install SP3, it may be will work or try to reprocess the cube.

• Hi,

I have already applied SP4 to our Analysis Services and SQL Server.  Our analyst was just trying to access the cube and it would just hang.  We see an error in the event log of the application hanging and in a hung state.  We are looking at the server to see if something is going on there.  I was just wondering was options were available to try and troubleshoot Analysis Service.

Thanks for your thoughts!

Bea Isabelle

Thanks!
    Bea Isabelle

• Have you applied the same SP (for PTS) to each of your client machines?  Normally connecting with a lower SP client would result in errors on the client end not the server, but you never know.  In case you're looking for it, there should be a PTS(full?) and PTSLite on the same CD/installer that you used for your SP to AS.