Analysing a Profiler Trace

• Hello all,

I'm not very experienced in analyzing a Profiler Trace. Therefor I want to ask you to clear something for me.

I've created a trace of a short process to see if we can improve this. The process contains several queries in which we use the hint "with (nolock)". But in the trace-results I see quite some "lock:acquired" and "lock:released".

How can I find out more details about this "lock:acquired"? I want to know on which table and what type of lock (row/page/table) is acquired.

Kind regards,

Hans

** Don't mistake the ‘stupidity of the crowd’ for the ‘wisdom of the group’! **
  • Is the statement in question a SELECT or an INSERT/UPDATE/DELETE. If the latter, the engine ignores the NOLOCK hint.

The Mode column will show you what kind of lock you're dealing with and the ObjectId will tell you which object the lock was placed on. See Books Online for Details. This is the definitions for the Mode:

Resulting mode after the lock was acquired.

0=NULL - Compatible with all other lock modes (LCK_M_NL)

1=Schema Stability lock (LCK_M_SCH_S)

2=Schema Modification Lock (LCK_M_SCH_M)

3=Shared Lock (LCK_M_S)

4=Update Lock (LCK_M_U)

5=Exclusive Lock (LCK_M_X)

6=Intent Shared Lock (LCK_M_IS)

7=Intent Update Lock (LCK_M_IU)

8=Intent Exclusive Lock (LCK_M_IX)

9=Shared with intent to Update (LCK_M_SIU)

10=Shared with Intent Exclusive (LCK_M_SIX)

11=Update with Intent Exclusive (LCK_M_UIX)

12=Bulk Update Lock (LCK_M_BU)

13=Key range Shared/Shared (LCK_M_RS_S)

14=Key range Shared/Update (LCK_M_RS_U)

15=Key Range Insert NULL (LCK_M_RI_NL)

16=Key Range Insert Shared (LCK_M_RI_S)

17=Key Range Insert Update (LCK_M_RI_U)

18=Key Range Insert Exclusive (LCK_M_RI_X)

19=Key Range Exclusive Shared (LCK_M_RX_S)

20=Key Range Exclusive Update (LCK_M_RX_U)

21=Key Range Exclusive Exclusive (LCK_M_RX_X)

"The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood"