After insert trigger not firing

• I'm a newbie at SQL, so please go easy, LOL. I have an SQL Express 2008 R2 database that contains 2 tables, one called StudentID and the other called StaffID. These tables are used by a third party software. I have created the following AFTER INSERT trigger for both tables that creates the next barcode values. The trigger in the StudentID table fires every time a record is inserted, but the trigger in the StaffID will fire once and then stop firing after SQL server restart. I can't understand why this is happening since the triggers are same just in 2 different tables.

USE [GroupTables]

GO

/****** Object: Trigger [dbo].[AddBarCode] Script Date: 07/15/2013 08:29:07 ******/

SET ANSI_NULLS ON

GO

SET QUOTED_IDENTIFIER ON

GO

-- =============================================

-- Author:<Tager, Kevin>

-- Create date: <7/13/2013>

-- Description:<Trigger to generate next barcode values on insert>

CREATE TRIGGER [dbo].[AddBarCode]

ON [dbo].[StudentID]

AFTER INSERT

AS

BEGIN

-- SET NOCOUNT ON added to prevent extra result sets from

-- interfering with SELECT statements.

SET NOCOUNT ON;

-- Update the barcode numbers of the most recently Inserted Record

UPDATE [dbo].[StudentID]

SET [FoodBarcode] = [dbo].[StudentID].[AI] + 3289,

[LibraryBarcode] = [dbo].[StudentID].[AI] + 880101800707

WHERE [dbo].[StudentID].[AI] = @@Identity

END

GO

• your trigger is very close;

inside a trigger, isntead of using @@identity, you wnat to use the virtual tables INSERTED (or DELETED, where approriate);

that virtual table allows oyu to handle multiple rows at teh same time, and already has teh new values generated from any identity() columns, calculated columns, etc.

USE [GroupTables]

GO

/****** Object: Trigger [dbo].[AddBarCode] Script Date: 07/15/2013 08:29:07 ******/

SET ANSI_NULLS ON

GO

SET QUOTED_IDENTIFIER ON

GO

-- Author: <Tager, Kevin>

-- Create date: <7/13/2013>