Active/Active cluster on win 2003 server. Need some help

• Hello all,

It's my first time when I got such task, so please be patience  I need to configure active/active 2 node sql server cluster on win2003 server. I've read a lot of articles about the clustering, but only a little part of them directly describe the active/active type. So any help would be apprecate

I have two servers and shared disk array, which I can divide into 4 disks(is it enough?)(for example I and H drives depends to db1 data and log files; K and L to db2)

So if I correctly understood, all goes in that way: I have to install one sql 2000 server named instance on one node(s1 with db1) and second named instance on the other node(s2 with db2). Then on the s1 I have to install virtual sql named instance vs1/first, where the s1 would be the primary and s2 the secondary, and on the s2 I have to install second virtual sql named instance vs2/second, where s2 would be the primary and s1 - secondary.

Now if the server s1 failover to s2 what happens? s2 takes control of db1 data and log files, which resides on the drives I, H, and what about s1 serveragent, msdb and db1 jobs?? Or maybye my understanding about this is like in the stone-age

And the second thing: There is the third server s3 which stands here for log shipping purpose. S1 and S2 make backups and s3 copies and restores them. Now when S1 failover to S2, what hapens with S1 TRN? I think that s3 then restores s2 TRN only. Am I right?

Thanks in advance for any help

• Let me see if I understand.

You would like to install a SQL cluster that has the same data active(delayed by logshipping) on a cluster.

In other words a Active/Passive and Passive/Active on the same cluster?

Lukas Botha

• Ok, maybye I explained my problem not clearly enough. I'll try again