A Scary Situation

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item A Scary Situation

• Oh, good question Steve. I'm looking forward to reading what other people write. Since I've been in this field for a long time, I've got several stories. I'll share 4 as briefly as I can.

Starting with your last suggestion, I used to work in the private sector for a company that experienced frequent layoffs. In fact, everyone began referring to them bitterly as the "annual autumn layoffs" because they always came before Thanksgiving. Hundreds of people were laid off each time. Eventually they closed the plant and laid everyone off. Experiences like that tend to scar you for life.

In my previous job I was working for my local university, but off campus. My boss used to be the network administrator, setting up SQL Server, Microsoft Exchange Server, routers, etc. After a few years he left, putting me in charge. Networking and system administration are not in my wheelhouse. The building we were in wasn't well insulated. One night we had a thunderstorm, which took out our Exchange Server. Let me tell you, when people can't get to their email, you will get a LOT of abuse and angry people demanding fixes yesterday. I was over my head. It took calling the university IT to have them come out to fix the problem. Again, I've got scars from that experience.