A few reflections on RBAR by a weary application developer

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item A few reflections on RBAR by a weary application developer

• Hi everyone, I enjoyed writing this article and I appreciate the time that you took to read it. I thank you for your comments and I will respond to them all. Have a great day--George

• But, as a DBA, I would have made sure that the data was clean before attempting an import!:-)

Michael L John
    If you assassinate a DBA, would you pull a trigger?
    To properly post on a forum:
    http://www.sqlservercentral.com/articles/61537/

• I agree. Don't let the bad data get to the database.

I get data files from clients every morning, and they have proven that I can't trust their data.

My strategy is to preprocess the files in Powershell first to make sure the file is clean, and then let the database import it.

I end up with a clean file, plus a name and shame log file to give the client so they know that yes, after the fiftieth time I've warned them, they still aren't giving me a properly formatted CSV file.

• Hurt.Bill (12/8/2013)

I agree. Don't let the bad data get to the database.

Hey there. I agree as well, but, "bad" data is not just a matter of parsing the source file and making sure those values are valid for the destination datatypes. There can be issues with FK violations as well as CHECK CONSTRAINT and UNIQUE CONSTRAINT violations, or other issues that violate business rules for the data that are being checked via Triggers, etc.