3-node Database Mirroring

• Hi,

I would like to set up database mirroring on a 3-server environment. The idea would be to have 2 DB servers configured as the database principle and 1 DB server hosting the all the mirrored copies from both active DB servers. These things are often difficult to explain in so I will simplify in the following way.

Server 1 would be acting as Principle server for databases A, B and C and Server 2 would be acting as principle server for databases D, E and F. Server 3 would be acting as mirrored server for all databases A, B, C, D, E, and F.

I've read from various sources that any DB server can only have one endpoint configured for use with DB mirroring, but I'm uncertain as to whether this one endpoint can serve various mirror relationships with differing hosts. Other than configure a handful environments with conventional database mirroring, I'm new to SQL mrroring so want to make sure I understand this. Is this configuration possible?

Any feedback would be gratefully received.

• A common mirror..I think it is not possible.

Regards,
    [font="Verdana"]Sqlfrenzy[/font]

• I guess it could be possible. As two different instance on a same server will be distinguised by the different tcp/ip port. Hence I guess what you are planning to do is logically possible. Still have not practically done. You can also refer the following link for reference:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms179511.aspx

HTH

---------------------------------------------------
    "Thare are only 10 types of people in the world:
    Those who understand binary, and those who don't."

• free_mascot (3/24/2010)

I guess it could be possible. As two different instance on a same server will be distinguised by the different tcp/ip port. Hence I guess what you are planning to do is logically possible. Still have not practically done. You can also refer the following link for reference:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms179511.aspx

HTH