2005 unused indexes

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item 2005 unused indexes

Wilfred
    The best things in life are the simple things

• Hi Wilfred,

I was searching the net for articles/scripts on unused indexes and before I found yours, I came upon this website that gave a script on unused indexes. I modified it a bit to exclude PK's and my record count was 1222. Oh yes, I was naughty and did not administer my indexes as I should have but the problem I have here is I am not a DBA, I am a developer and there is no DBA here and I have been self training for close to 4 years now so unfortunately my developer work always took precedence to the DBA work and that's not quite so bad because I have put maintenance plans in place to do all sorts of things to protect and check the database. I also get some emails if anything goes wrong but I am worried now because the database has become bloated. Back to my query. I added theother query below and link to the website.

select object_schema_name(i.object_id) schemaname, object_name(i.object_id) tablename,

i.name indexname

from sys.indexes i

where objectproperty(i.object_id, 'IsUserTable') = 1 and isnull(i.name,'') <> '' and

not exists(select ne.index_id from sys.dm_db_index_usage_stats ne

where ne.object_id = i.object_id and ne.index_id = i.index_id and database_id = db_id()) and

left(i.name,2) <> 'PK'

ORDER BY schemaname, tablename, indexname

Now my problem is this: I ran your query and only got only 109 rows for my database. Wow!!! from 1222 to 109 is a great difference. Won't you please have a look and tell me what the other query do that yours don't.

:-PManie Verster
    Developer
    Johannesburg
    South Africa

I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. - Holy Bible
    I am a man of fixed and unbending principles, the first of which is to be flexible at all times. - Everett Mckinley Dirkson (Well, I am trying. - Manie Verster)