1 Server multiple instances or 1 instance or even Multiple servers?

• I am a new DBA working for a charity and I have project to consolidate the multiple databases scattered across the organization.

I have identified the main databases that are mission critical to the organisation. We also have a virtualised infrastructure so plenty of VM's. We currently run SQL Server 2008R2.

Fundraising Database (off the shelf package - 30GB in size with about 100 users)

Fundraising Data warehouse (off the shelf package - 30GB in size with about 5 users)

SQL Reporting Services Database (1GB - reports used across the whole organisation so about 400 users)

Case Load Services Database (Developed in house - 4GB in size with about 300 users)

Finance Database (off the shelf package - 2GB in size with about 150 users)

GFI Exchange archive databases - (off the shelf database - 30GB in size with about 300 users)

Then we have about 10 other smaller databases for system monitoring etc... that are important but not mission critical.

Now the question I have is (bearing in mind limited budget and resources) is whether I should put all of these databases on 1 single instance on 1 single Windows Server 2008 VM. Or would it be better to have them on a single box with separate named instances? Or possibly even separate VM Servers splitting out certain databases each?

My thoughts was to have 2 VM's. SQL01 for the missions critical databases. SQL02 for the other databases that are non mission critical. I was even toying with the idea of separate named instances on SQL01 for security and the ability to manage services separately without affecting other databases? For example if we need to restart a service during working hours we would not have to take out the whole organisation but only users on 1 database.