Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Redgate

How to create user in Oracle 9i

How to create user in Oracle 9i

Author
John-1015474
Grasshopper
Grasshopper (17 reputation)Grasshopper (17 reputation)Grasshopper (17 reputation)Grasshopper (17 reputation)Grasshopper (17 reputation)Grasshopper (17 reputation)Grasshopper (17 reputation)Grasshopper (17 reputation)

Group: General Forum Members
Hi
I am new in Oracle,but i work mainly on sql server 2000 & 2005.I just install the oracle 9i in my system.I want to make an user.so i open the Oracle SQL*plus.and enter in it using the login name as scott and paswword as tiger.
When i used the command "create user vivek identified by vivek;" it shows the following error.
SQL> create user vivek identified by vivek;
create user vivek identified by vivek
ERROR at line 1:
ORA-01031: insufficient privileges

please tell me how can i create user in it.

Vivek

Nothing Is Impossible
VastSQL
VastSQL
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame (3K reputation)Hall of Fame (3K reputation)Hall of Fame (3K reputation)Hall of Fame (3K reputation)Hall of Fame (3K reputation)Hall of Fame (3K reputation)Hall of Fame (3K reputation)Hall of Fame (3K reputation)

First you connect to that particular database using login 'system'
ie conn system\password@DB_Name as sysdba. Then try
PaulB-TheOneAndOnly
PaulB-TheOneAndOnly
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame (3.1K reputation)Hall of Fame (3.1K reputation)Hall of Fame (3.1K reputation)Hall of Fame (3.1K reputation)Hall of Fame (3.1K reputation)Hall of Fame (3.1K reputation)Hall of Fame (3.1K reputation)Hall of Fame (3.1K reputation)

Ratheesh.K.Nair (3/12/2009)
First you connect to that particular database using login 'system'
ie conn system\password@DB_Name as sysdba. Then try
BA

SYS and SYSTEM are Oracle equivalents of "sa" account; you don't want to connect to the database using such powerfull accounts just to create an user.