Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Redgate

Dumb Vocab Question about What This Type of Table is Called

Dumb Vocab Question about What This Type of Table is Called

Author
lek103
SSC Rookie
SSC Rookie (46 reputation)SSC Rookie (46 reputation)SSC Rookie (46 reputation)SSC Rookie (46 reputation)SSC Rookie (46 reputation)SSC Rookie (46 reputation)SSC Rookie (46 reputation)SSC Rookie (46 reputation)

Group: General Forum Members
This is probably a dumb question, but I'm totally self-taught and have learned everything I know from the Internet, so sometimes I struggle with knowing the correct terms to use for things. I've tried Googling this and I can't seem to adequately describe it to get good search results. So if I have the following 2 tables:

FieldType
FieldTypeID
FieldTypeDescription

FieldValueList
FieldTypeID
FieldValueID
FieldValue

...and they're populated like this:

FieldTypeID FieldTypeDescription
1 State
2 Animal
3 Vegetable

FieldTypeID FieldValueID FieldValue
1 1 Massachusetts
1 2 Vermont
2 3 Cat
2 4 Frog
3 5 Broccoli
3 6 Radish

...is there terminology for the FieldValueList table? Basically a table that's a dumping ground for a bunch of lists of things that would appear in drop-downs based on their FieldTypeID?
John Mitchell-245523
John Mitchell-245523
SSCertifiable
SSCertifiable (7.5K reputation)SSCertifiable (7.5K reputation)SSCertifiable (7.5K reputation)SSCertifiable (7.5K reputation)SSCertifiable (7.5K reputation)SSCertifiable (7.5K reputation)SSCertifiable (7.5K reputation)SSCertifiable (7.5K reputation)

Those are horrible. I recommend avoiding that design if at all possible. I've seen it described as EAV (Entity Attribute Value), OTLT (One True Lookup Table) and MUCK (Massively Unified Code Key).

John
GilaMonster
GilaMonster
SSC-Forever