SQL Clone
SQLServerCentral is supported by Redgate

datename-datepart weirdness

datename-datepart weirdness

Author
ursus-129623
SSC Rookie
SSC Rookie (48 reputation)SSC Rookie (48 reputation)SSC Rookie (48 reputation)SSC Rookie (48 reputation)SSC Rookie (48 reputation)SSC Rookie (48 reputation)SSC Rookie (48 reputation)SSC Rookie (48 reputation)

Group: General Forum Members

I'm currently playing with a query that needs to return all the appointments for a physician three business days ahead of their appointments. I think I can deal with the logic, but when I started playing with the "pretty-report-that-management-can-read" bit, I ran into an odd behavior when using datepart and datename.

I won't bore you with the whole thing, but if I enter the query:

select @@datefirst as 'Datefirst',datename(dw,@@datefirst) as 'WD Name'
,datename(dw,datepart(d,@@datefirst)) as 'DP WD Name'

this is the result I get:

Datefist WD Name DP WD Name

7 Monday Tuesday

If I read BOL correctly, the results should be 7 (default), Sunday, Sunday, right? Why the discrepancy? I'm sure it's a stupid oversight on my part, but I'd like your help in figuring this out before I start calling patients to remind them of their Sunday appointments.

Frank Kalis
Frank Kalis
SSC-Insane
SSC-Insane (20K reputation)SSC-Insane (20K reputation)SSC-Insane (20K reputation)SSC-Insane (20K reputation)SSC-Insane (20K reputation)SSC-Insane (20K reputation)SSC-Insane (20K reputation)SSC-Insane (20K reputation)

Look at the explanation of DATENAME. As you are supplying @@datefirst as your date, SQL Server assumes that you are looking for the values of day 7 according to SQL Server date arithmetic, which is 08/01/1900

select
dateadd(dd,7,0) as 'Datefirst'
, datename(dw,7) as 'WD Name'
, datename(dw,datepart(d,7)) as 'DP WD Name'

Datefirst WD Name DP WD Name
------------------------------------------------------ ------------------------------ ------------------------------