Zero length strings in MS Access

• Hi.

I have a bit of an obscure problem (I think). I'll try to keep this as concise as possible.

From an old system I have mine numbers that look like this;

1788/E

1789/E

1790/E/01

1790/E/02

1790/E/03

1790/E/04

1790/E/05

1790/E/06

1790/E/07

1790/E/08

1790/E/09

The first four digits are the "Mine number" and the remaining six characters are a "suffix" which is used to distinguish "sub areas" within a mine. "sub areas" may or may not exist for any given mine.

I split this up into two columns (an integer - constrained to 0-9999, and a varchar(6) with a default of a zero length string. This part works fine.

I have a table containing production data which uses the compound PK from the mine table to create the relationship (there is a year column included in the production table facilitating the 1-M relationship)

All of this works fine in SLQ Server land.

When I look at these tables in MS Access (I want to create a "quick and dirty UI" for users) any mine with a zero length string as the "suffix" does not show related production data. I know that the RI between the two tables is correct because if I change the "suffix" to be anything other than a zero length string it does a cascading update and then I can see the related production data.

This appears to be a problem with MS Access. Has anyone run into this before? Is there a workaround? Is there just something I have to do to get things working properly?

Thanks for any help you may be able to provide.

• Can you provide table description and sample data, so I can play around with it? The article in the link below describes very well how to do this.

Ronald HensbergenHelp us, help yourself... Post data so we can read and use it: http://www.sqlservercentral.com/articles/Best+Practices/61537/-------------------------------------------------------------------------2+2=5 for significant large values of 2