Wind Power

• Power is on my mind, especially when it snows 🙂

But more than that, I make my living using computers and without power they're not much more than large paperweights. Even better, I love the time I get surfing the web, playing games, and learning things about the world. Much like flipping through an encyclopedia, something I used to do at the public library, it's a great way to pass a few minutes and grow your world.

Getting off the grid, or at least having alternative methods of generating power is important. The past couple years have seen gas prices in the US approaching those in Europe. Which is good and bad. My wallet isn't thrilled, but I'm hopeful that it will spur some development of fuel cells, alternative power transportation, and other methods of keeping my PC going that don't do so much damage to the environment.

I've looked at a few of these, solar power, wind power, even in combination with some sort of flywheel battery that could provide some power when I was without wind or sun.

Living in Colorado, wind power is something to consider. We get lots of wind. Not steady, but every little bit helps. However, I've been nervous about deploying any sort of windmill as I'm concerned about one of the blades snapping in a big windstorm and flying about. However any little blade that I might snap would be nothing compared to one of these. GE is developing a 70 meter blade and there are a few 120+m blades in prototype.

70 meters!!

Wow! I assume they'll be in lightly populated or traveled areas, but can you imagine one of these snapping off? It would make for an interesting video, probably like the Tacoma Narrows Bridge disaster.

Steve Jones

• Check out http://www.homepower.com/ magazine. I picked up a copy last year while on vacation, read the whole thing. Lots of great ideas for getting off the grid, or at least reducing dependence.

Joe

• Funny to read about this in our primary SQL Server reference.