Who Can Program?

• Pascal's Triangle

Bill Gates thinks you show the skills in the first 3-4 years and that pretty much determines if you're a great programmer or not. Jeff Atwood at CodingHorror.com thinks it's true as well and offers some insights into that if you read some of the related blog entries.

I tend to agree. I'm a mediocre programmer. I know how to program, can compile programs, I know linked lists, pointers, sorts, can call a method or write a class, but I don't love it. I don't spend spare time writing code, at least not much. I can knock out simple utilities or quick fixes, but I don't really have a passion for it and it makes me a good, but not great programmer.

And I agree that's not likely to change. I could really buckle down and I think in the short term, maybe a few months, I could do a better job, but not orders of magnitude better and I'd get tired of it pretty quickly, so it's not a great career path for me.

So are DBAs the same? Do you "get it" or not get it? I think in some sense it's true. I've worked with lots of programmers and many of them just don't get "sets" of data and how to work them. Sure they can move through a result set, but they don't really grasp what it means to join two sets of data and how you manipulate it. Often this shows up in outer joins, but sometimes grouping and ordering operations confuse them.

I do think that you can learn to be a better DBA, however, and learn how set operations work. I think that MDX, however, presents a whole new level of learning. Just understanding how more than 3 dimensions might fit together is beyond most people and I'm not sure how well you can develop skills in this area.