What''s the magic of ''between'' ?

• Greetings,

This may seem like a stupid question but I've never stopped to look at it beyond the simple 'it works'

I have a column with data in it: '001-1210-105'

When I do the following SQL it returns a result:

SELECT GL.vchrACCTNUMB FROM GENLACCT GL where GL.vchrACCTNUMB between '001-1210' and '001-1219'

My question is WHY?  I always used it on date fields before and just figured there was some internal mechanism that just knew how to do date comparisons, but here I have a varchar.  I've tested out a few scenarios adding records inside and outside the range and changing the between range and it really seems like it does EXACTLY what I want it to do but I'm just not happy not necessarily knowing why...

Any tech articles or just thoughts would be appreciated.

regards,

Chris

• Hi Chris,

I'm not an expert, but my comprehension is that when comparing strings, SQL Server does a character by character comparison of the ASCII codes, starting with the leftmost characters.

A string is greater than another string if the ASCII code of the corresponding character is greater.

'001-1219' is greater than '001-1210' because the ASCII code of the 8th character '9' is 57, and the ASCII code of '0' is 48.

A string is also greater than another string if it starts with the same characters, but has additional characters.

'001-1210-105' is greater than '001-1210' because it has additional characters.

However, '001-1210-105' is less than '001-1219' because the comparison is character by character, and the ASCII code of the 8th character is less.

I can't find a reference for this, but perhaps someone else can oblige.

David

If it ain't broke, don't fix it...