What information should I keep for each database ??

• Hello,

I have just become our SQL DBA (we haven't had one for a few years) and we have no documentation for any of our servers or databases.

I have no experience of being a DBA and would appreciate any help.......

I am currently putting together a spreadsheet with information about our SQL landscape.

So far I have identified the following:

Instance:

. PRODUCT

. EDITION

. PRODUCTLEVEL

. VERSION

. PLATFORM

Databases:

. DATABASE NAME

. STATUS

. COLLATION

. COMPATIBILITY LEVEL

. AUTOSHRINK

. RECOVERY MODEL

. SIZE (MB)

. SPACE AVAILABLE (MB)

. Data Drive

. Data Size (MB)

. Data Used Space (MB)

. Log Drive

. Log Size (MB)

. Log Used Space (MB)

Am I missing anything ??

I have made this into a powershell script so that it can be created and updated whenever we need it.

• Automated basics like that are definitely a good place to start.

The most important thing about a database, however, isn't something you can automatically document. The most important thing is "what is it for and who uses it?"

Once you know what a database is for, and to whom it is important, you can determine things like "what recovery model should it be in?" Automated scripts will tell you what recovery model it is in, but not what recovery model it needs to be in.

You're definitely heading the right direction.

And, there are two things I always like to tell new DBAs:

1. A backup plan isn't what you need, a restore plan is what you need.

2. Your job is to make your work as boring as possible. When things get adrenalized for the DBA, that's usually really bad for the business, because it usually means a database or server is down. (Doesn't mean the work can't be interesting. Just it shouldn't be heart-pumping-exciting.)

- Gus "GSquared", RSVP, OODA, MAP, NMVP, FAQ, SAT, SQL, DNA, RNA, UOI, IOU, AM, PM, AD, BC, BCE, USA, UN, CF, ROFL, LOL, ETC
    Property of The Thread