Using Integration Services without GUI?

• I dislike Integration Services. Maybe it is just the fact I am a programmer, but the product appears ridiculously over-engineered. It also lacks true programmatic hooks, as far as I can tell.

Basic architectural issues with Integration Services I've had:

* Often we'll have databases with different names for things, but given an ontological mapping, I can tell you that column XYZ in database J is conceptually the same as column ABC from database K. SSIS appears to have no way to express this. Usually the graphics B.S. just makes it harder to view these important details and reason about that.

* We create "software factories" and "software product lines" in order to provide customized software to customers while reusing as much front-end and back-end logic as possible. SSIS seems to fight this goal.

* I perceive the graphical bells and whistles to mainly serve the purpose of organizing bureaucratic goals, since business people don't like looking at code but stuff that looks closer to Gantt charts is less likely to flabberghast them. People like the illusory feeling that they are in control of the developers/DBAs.

Lately, I've revisited this topic when somebody asked me why I don't like SSIS. Traditionally, I'd explain those personal problems and also link to Oren Eini's Why I Hate SSIS rant, and even more recently I just link them to the redneck Google search result for why i hate ssis.

Most of the complaints Oren and I have can be distilled down to the horrible graphical front-end and poor debugging facilities. I guess I am just wondering, does anyone ditch the graphical front-end, and, if so, how do you do it?

• You can use variables to modify connection options like server, table and column names in some SSIS objects. It really depends on what you are trying to achieve.