Two beginner Availability Groups questions

• Hello experts,

I'm an accidental DBA who recently joined a new group, and I'm learning how to work with availability groups. Luckily, the more senior guys are patient, but I want to get up to speed asap and stop feeling ignorant about AGs.

I have two noob AG questions I hope someone can help me with:

Question 1: Sometimes I try to add a db to an AG with Automatic Seeding or Join Only, and it seems to hang partway through the process. See attached photo for the illustration of the behavior. I have had some success by

1. doing a full and log backup of the primary db,
    2. copying those backups to the secondary nodes,
    3. restoring the backups
    4. adding the primary db to the AG

Even when those steps work, though, SSMS locks up and I have to end the task from Windows. Obviously I must be doing something wrong. Can someone let me know why the add would hang in that situation, and how I can learn to do the add properly?

Question 2: I have a primary database whose data and log file sizes I want to increase. However, after doing the increases, I go back to check the properties and the database has gone back to its previous data and log file sizes. I checked Auto Shrink and it is False, but maybe I am missing something? Or maybe the size resets have to do with AG?

Thanks for any help!

-- webrunner

• This topic was modified 4 years, 3 months ago by  webrunner. Reason: Format fix
    • This topic was modified 4 years, 3 months ago by  webrunner.
    Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.

-------------------
    A SQL query walks into a bar and sees two tables. He walks up to them and asks, "Can I join you?"
    Ref.: http://tkyte.blogspot.com/2009/02/sql-joke.html

• I never use automatic seeding - even on databases that are small enough.  The process I use - and one that has not failed yet...is:

1. Backup database on primary
    2. Backup transaction log on primary