Transforming CHAR(2) values to string

• I'm new to working with SSIS and I'm poking around and playing with the transformations in the data flow.

Our current ERP system is programmed to insert a CHAR(2) value into fields if they are left blank (don't ask why, I don't know). If CHAR(2) is allowed to pass through into the dimensional model, our reporting system issues errors as it cannot show CHAR(2), obviously I cannot allow CHAR(2) to remain past the transformation step in any columns/attributes.

Previously (before migrating to MSSQL Server), I've always used a SQL statement with a transformation logic built into the source extract

CASE col_1 WHEN CHAR(2) THEN 'Blank' ELSE CHAR(2) END

But that is not very transparent if other developers take over maintenance of the system or pokes through it for ideas, so I would like to move this transformation into the data flow for transparency.

How is this best achieved? I've tried using a Derived Column transformation, but it cannot take "CASE" statements (at least, I cannot make it).

My next idea was to use a Conditional Split and route the CHAR(2) valued columns into a Derived Column transformation and Union All the output from that Derived Column transformation with the default output of the Conditional Split and inserting the data into the destination table.

That idea seems like a lot of work for something that, on the outside of the box, sounds very simple.

Another annoying detail is the inability to use the syntax <Col_1>==CHAR(2) - instead I need to use the following syntax <Col_1>=="" since the character "" is representing the CHAR(2) value.

Add to all of this a dimension table with many strings that could possibly contain attribute values of CHAR(2) independently of each other...

Any help or guidance is much appreciated.