63 2

63 2

63 3

... ...

46 11

... ...

56 20

63 21

Now basically what i want to do is that i need to get the top 10 distinct CNO numbers from this

view.

I am a novice to T-sql so i am not sure how to do this.

Could anyone help me out on the same.

Thanks

Jacob

• select distinct top 10 CNO

from MyTable

• thanks for the help but the problem here is that the order is changing and thats something which i don;t want. Its like when do the query the values returned are in sorted order

• what i am saying is my return value should be

... and so on

Thanks for ur help

• Check this out...

SELECTTOP 10 T.*

FROM( SELECT CNO, MAX( SNO ) AS SNO FROM SomeTable GROUP BY CNO ) T

ORDER BY SNO DESC

--Ramesh

• Hey Ramesh,

Thanks a lot man. This exactly what i wanted.

• I'm glad, I could help.

--Ramesh

• Select * from SomeTable

where SNO>=

(

Select MIN(RR.R) from

(

Select TOP 10 T.SNOS as R

FROM

(SELECT CNO, Min( SNO ) AS SNOS FROM SomeTable GROUP BY CNO ) T

ORDER BY T.SNOS ASC

) RR)

and

SNO<=

(Select MAX(RR.R) from

(

Select TOP 10 T.SNOS as R

FROM

(SELECT CNO, Min( SNO ) AS SNOS FROM SomeTable GROUP BY CNO ) T

ORDER BY T.SNOS ASC

) RR)

Okie now this query will basically return me the results associated with the top 10 distinct CNOs. ranging from the MIN and Max values of SNO.

Now my question is how i will get the next 10 results. ???

• It would be hard for us to provide the best solution without knowing what you exactly want from us. Its there in your mind but not mine.

Looking at the query, I can say this can be optimized to a better level.

--Ramesh

• hi jacobneroth ,

will u mention exactly wht u need?

thx

sreejith

MCAD

• As a few others have said, you aren't being exactly clear as to what it is that you are actually trying to do.

Perhaps if you explain a little about what you are trying to do, we might be able to help more.