TLS 1.2 and Database mail

• Hi,

We use office 365, and just recently received an email from them saying we had a client using TLS 1.0.  I tracked this down to database mail.  I'm an accidental DBA (more a developer, but now a jack-of-all-trades IT), so don't know about security at all.

We have MSSQL 2017 on Server 2016.  One suggestions was to check the "use SSL" box in Database mail setup, but I already have that checked.  I just checked the box for "force encryption" in SQL Server Config Manager -> Network config -> Protocols.  I don't know how to test what TLS version Database mail is using - is there a way?

Other things I read say you need to disable TLS 1.0 and 1.1 in the registry for the entire server.  Some other sites said there were a couple other registry settings that were needed to keys for .Net Framework.

This server is set to go into production in less than 3 weeks, and has many interfaces (third party, supposedly compatible with TLS 1.2) and SSRS and Crystal Reports that need to be tested.  Some things I can't test until we go live (for example, electronic prescriptions - can't have those go to the non-prod database!).  So I'm feeling a time crunch - we just got the email from Microsoft on Thursday, and I've been madly Googling since.

Please forgive my convoluted and/or unclear explanations.  I hardly know enough about this subject to be able to ask the correct questions. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Pat

• An update - after checking that "force unencrypted" option, I dug around on the Office 365 security and compliance site and did an email trace.  Maybe that fixed it!!!  :-O  See attachment:

It says Message received by: DMXXXX using TLS 1.2 with AES256.  Can anyone confirm if this meets the Office 365 new requirements?

Sorry again for the confused and hysterical posts  😛

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.