study methods.

• Im studying for the 70-432 exam but its taking me ages. i guess my main problem is there are many technologies and topics that i dont use regularly or at all in the book so although i read about them and do an example or two, the info falls out of my head in a week or two as its not being regularly used.

I spend about 1-2 hours a day doing sample tests on a legit microsoft site, but im not sure how much benifit this is. I see folks taking an exam in as little as 5 weeks after purchasing the study material.

im currently studying for about 2-3 months now and still not confident enough to do the 432 exam. how do you guys effectively study and how much time do you put in per day/week?

Im hoping to use your techniques to divise a study schedule and method to allow me to take this exam by the end of July ( cant study at all in June as its fiscal year end at work and crazy busy).

• I sympathise with your problem. To be honest while you’re working it probably will take you months to do each course. Those people who do them in a few weeks are probably between jobs / studying at work / being sent on courses / have an IQ of 9 million!

I’ve done 11 MS exams thus far and the only way that works for me is:-

1) Read a book on the course material. This can take months, and as you say if you’re not using it you won’t remember everything at the end.

2) Buy some practice exams. There are various companies that do these. They’re expensive but worth it. You’ll probably fail the practice first time. And second time. But as you fail you’ll learn what you’re weak at and can go back and study it again. This is the bit you really need to do in a short period of time, so you don’t forget it again. I usually book my exam 2-3 weeks ahead, usually just after buying the practice exams, which forces me to get on with it.

3) Take the exam. So long as you can pass the practice exams by then you should be okay! 🙂

Good luck!