store/save results from sprocs

• I've been trying to figure this out but either don't know where to look or how to ask The Google, but I'm trying to save/store what various delivered sprocs return.

For example, I want to store, either in variables or directly into a table I can then manipulate, the results from sp_helpsrvrolemember. There are others but this is one that returns several columns and several rows and it is a good place to start.

I guess I could declare three variables of varchar but how do save a result set in them? I'm just not sure how to search for this answer.

I'm new to MSSQL and hope this question doesn't qualify for the "questions getting worse" thread.

• You would use:

INSERT INTO {table}

EXECUTE {procedure}

It is documented in books online under the INSERT INTO topic. The caveat for this is that the procedure cannot return more than one result set, or the insert will fail.

Jeffrey Williams
    “We are all faced with a series of great opportunities brilliantly disguised as impossible situations.”

― Charles R. Swindoll

How to post questions to get better answers faster
    Managing Transaction Logs

• Thanks. I didn't think to look there.

Regarding the "more than one result set" -- that would mean doing an INSERT INTO {table} EXECUTE SP_MONITOR would fail (as an example)?

I'll fiddle with this and see what I can figure out before I ask any other questions.

Thanks a lot! That was a big help.

• Yes - executing something like that would fail due to the multiple result sets.

One of the things you can do is view the code used in those procedures and extract the code you want to use yourself.

Oh, and another thing that will cause this to fail is if the procedure you are executing using an INSERT INTO ... EXECUTE itself. You can't nest them.

Jeffrey Williams
    “We are all faced with a series of great opportunities brilliantly disguised as impossible situations.”

― Charles R. Swindoll