State Database in Web tier

• Hi

Just looking for any observations of best practice.. We're planning to put the State database on a server in the same tier as the web servers - the reason being to cut the traffic through the main firewall between the web farm and the sql cluster which currently holds the state database.

I'm not planning to use in memory.

It appears I should make sure the connection string ( or the connections ) from the web servers to the database server is encrypted .. being a DBA I have to admit this isn't an area I'm very strong in.

Normal paranoia about data security etc. etc. so any observations or advice would be appreciated.

It's SQL 2014 STD

thanks

[font="Comic Sans MS"]The GrumpyOldDBA[/font]
    www.grumpyolddba.co.uk
    http://sqlblogcasts.com/blogs/grumpyolddba/

• No-one have their state database in the web tier or on a separate server then?

Am I unique in following this solution?

www.grumpyolddba.co.uk

• Where I see this, Colin, and with a few people, is that there are companies using Redis to manage some things like state (or lookup data) very quickly.

If you have sensitive information, then you have a security issue, but I'm not sure it's that bad. I'd really limit what goes here.

You are sharing memory with IIS here, so is it faster with SQL Express or some local instance?

Definitely protect credentials well.

• Hi Steve - thanks