SSIS Packages --> 2 questions

• Hi, sorry in advance for the n00b questions, but I'm very new to SSIS.

Here's the story: for my work I need to transfer around 200 tables over VPN to a linked server. It a migration project and I need to transfer the data around 5 or 6 times during next year.

Got it all setup and working. First with queries (insert into...select from..) but the project demands the use of SSIS. So I studied SSIS and started with it. Got is working and created the needed packages. Besides: the transfer is way quicker via SSIS. So SSIS it is!

So all good. I create and save the packages with the import and export wizard. When I wanna execute the packages I use the 'Integration Services Execution Utility'. I tried the user key for encryption and it works fine, but someone else must be able to run it, so I must use the password option. So on execution the p/w need to be entered but that's no big deal.

So all okay, but here my questions:

*is there any (easy) way to make a very simple user interface for the execution of the packages? Let's say a basic windows where the packages are listed. Select one (or more) en hit the 'run'-button? So colleages only have to open this program and hit the button.

I can program in VB.net and C# and tried searching the internet for clear examples but no joy really. It's just to make it very easy for everyone to run when I'm away and it just for triggering the execution of the packages. That's it.

*is there a way to get more and more detailed reports/results when the job's done? Where should I look? On the other hand: if I can manage to trigger the packages to run from a program (vb.net or C#) then I can build my own 'logs' by writing to txt files or anything.

SO, the first point is really the most important. I hope anyone can help me.

Many thanks in advance!

• Super_Grover (11/20/2016)

Hi, sorry in advance for the n00b questions, but I'm very new to SSIS.