SSIS Deployment Environments

• I have been using Project deployment with SQL 2012 for the past 2 years of more, but in a 3 tier distinct server set up. I now have to use it on a single server where we will need to set up environments for DEV, UAT and Live. What I am not understanding is how on a single server can you deploy DEV changes or UAT Testing packages without affecting Live? I have read several articles but nothing seems to make this distinction. Nowhere in the environment configuration does its seem to allow you to select a deployment version of the package.

Also I can see that once you have your base environments set up, when you select the package to configure you can select the Environment at the Local Level or Project Level. Can I assume from this these are 2 distinct logical layers so that anything at the Local Level is available to all projects on the server and anything at the Project Level is only available to that project?

Some advice and pointers to more in-depth articles would be really helpful.

Thanks

Tim.

• So you want to set up a single SSIS server containing multiple version of packages, is that correct?

Or merely have the same packages using different variable values, depending on target environment?

If you haven't even tried to resolve your issue, please don't expect the hard-working volunteers here to waste their time providing links to answers which you could easily have found yourself.

• Hi Phil.

Not sure how the final solution will pan out at the moment as everything is moving over to AWS, so lets say development will be done on the users local machine. Once the developer has finished the development and gone through Peer Testing (if any) :-P, it will be deployed to the SSIS server for UAT testing, so hence the UAT environment in the SSIS Catalog. But as we have now deployed a change to the SSISDB this must also affect live.