SSIS and advice about 90 files

• I'm an SSIS newbie but I'm not new to SQL Server/SSRS, etc. I found a couple of answers to my initial question about whether I have to create a separate flat file connection manager for each of the files (I do). I was excited at first when I found the MSDN page describing the multiflatfile connection type but I soon realized that it's just for multiple files with same format.

My goal is to automate importing multiple flat files of different formats into the corresponding tables in the database. If I set up the 90 connection managers, 90 flat file sources, and 90 OLE DB destinations they will all run in one package. I've started intensively studying to bring myself up to speed on SSIS but, because I'd like to move along my setup of this package, I'm hoping I can get some advice as to whether there's a better way to do this.

If after all I do need to set up the 90, if you were me, would you just make 90 copies of the first data flow and then adjust for each different flat file and database table or would you just create each one de novo so as not to run into hinky problems? I ask because I started doing it the copying way but I seemed to run into mysterious (to me) problems that took me a long time to straighten out. For one thing, it seems hard to change a column(field) length after it's already set up. It keeps changing back to whtever it was when I set up the original data flow.

Also, are there any drawbacks to putting all 9o0 in the same package?

Thanks for reading this lengthy post.

P.S. one of the reasons I had initially thought that one connection manager could be used for all is because of my experience with SSRS where you hjave one data source with the possibility of multiple datasets using the same data source.

• If you're really getting 90 files all in different formats then yes you would need to create 90 different flat file connects, how else is SSIS supposed to know how to parse each file type?