SSAS Cube without a DW logic

• Ok folks, I designed a fairly simple cube with 2 measures and 4 dimensions to analyze data from 4 different accounting systems. Basically I take a list of accounts, balances, and the date the balance was accurate, and trend which investment accounts are growing and which are shrinking. In order to look at accounts from all the systems I used a DW design where I imported all the accounts, then used a view to format all the accounts in the same way. This worked very well for me until I presented it to my team.

My team seems to think that I should not create a DW and should pull the information directly from the original 4 systems. I am looking for resources on what is best practice for this as I'm rather new to it. But it seems to me that the downsides are that without the DW if I loose my cube or it corrupts then I loose the data forever. WIth my dw I can store years worth of data and do a full refresh if needed.

Also, I'm doing a LOT of formatting in the DW before the cube imports it. For example, in one system employees are listed by name, and in another by a code, and in another by initials. In my view I use joins to an employee table so that the employee is always shown as a name to the cube. If I went directly to the original source I would be having to find a way to do that calculated columns in the cube before I could relate the different accounts. Is there any official opinion on whether its better to do that kind of substituting before the cube see's it? I'll give an example below to illustrate.

System A has 3 columns

account# Account Balance Employee

123 $4 John Doe

System B has 3 columns

acount# Account Balance Employee

345 $34 W321

My view that the cube see's is called wm.accountsall and formats the accounts to look like this

account# Account Balance Employee

123 $4 John Doe

345 $34 Jane Smith

So, thoughts? Would it be better to keep doing this formatting/substitution in the DW or do it in the cube?