SQL Server 2008 2 Node CLuster

• Hi, Im a DBA at a new company and have been charged with the task of setting up High Availability. We currently lease one SQL Server box (dedicated physical machine running 2008 web edition), and have 3 VM's running our web sites.

With our current setup and version (web edition) I could simply lease another box, create a private lan between the two and set up log shipping. Unfortunately our requirements are for automatic failover with (zero to no downtime) and more specifically - clustering.

I've never set up a 2 node cluster (Windows, SQL) and am trying to get to grips with the kit I need. Im quite confident that once the windows cluster is in place; I can deploy SQL on to it.

Could somebody give me some pointers as to what I should be asking for (very general I know 🙂 ) in terms of:

How many boxes in total (2 for each node, do I need a witness and a DNS box too [4 in total])?

SQL Version (I think standard would be suffice)

Thanks in advance

• Before Installing Failover Clustering

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms189910.aspx

• SQL Version (I think standard would be suffice)

Failover clustering is supported in SQL Server Enterprise and SQL Server Developer, and, with some restrictions, in SQL Server Standard.

• How many boxes in total (2 for each node, do I need a witness and a DNS box too [4 in total])?

Each node is a "box", so for a two-node cluster, you need two (identical) servers. Witness servers are for (some implementations of) mirroring, so you don't need one here. You can use the same DNS server that every other server in your domain does.

Dev (11/11/2011)

Failover clustering is supported in SQL Server Enterprise and SQL Server Developer, and, with some restrictions, in SQL Server Standard.