SQL Developer Skills

• Hey everyone,

I have been working with SQL Server 2012 and T-SQL for almost 2 years, on the development side. I have also been working with SSRS, more on a beginner to intermediate level. I have recently passed my Querying Microsoft SQL Server 2012 exam and and currently working on bringing my SSRS level up to a more intermediate-advance level. I also have some knowledge of C# and HTML/CSS, but have not had any formal development or problem solving training. Even though I currently work with SQL on a weekly basis, my core job role is standard Help Desk Analyst. I am wanting to transition into a full time SQL developer position and was wondering what other skill sets I should plan on working on? I know that it can very depending on what a company is looking for, but any advice would be much appreciated!

• Is there any chance you could do some SQL work where you are working now? Maybe there's a chance you could do so for a few hours a week. If so, I would then ask what additional skills would be beneficial.

Alvin Ramard
    Memphis PASS Chapter[/url]

All my SSC forum answers come with a money back guarantee. If you didn't like the answer then I'll gladly refund what you paid for it.

For best practices on asking questions, please read the following article: Forum Etiquette: How to post data/code on a forum to get the best help[/url]