SQL 2008 R2 Replication Error (No replicated transactions are available).

• Hello,

I am a relative newbie at replication although I've worked in SQL Server for several years. I am setting up replication for a client and am having a problem(s).

I am using Transactional replication between 2 machines A and B. They are running SQL Server 2008 R2 Standard Edition. They are not members of any domain. I have successfully (I think) configured everything and all accounts have the appropriate priveleges (I think).

The snapshot agent and log reader agent show "green" in replication monitor on the agents tab. The snapshot agent shows a status of Completed and a last action of "[100%] A snapshot of 1278 articles was generated". I look in the folder specified for the snapshot files and it is populated with files resembling table names, etc.

The log reader agent shows a status of Running and a last action of "No replicated transactions are available". So nothing ever gets replicated to the subscriber. I have Googled my brains out but can't find a solution.

Can someone help me out? The client is getting antsy and I need to get this resolved.

I probably left out some critical information so please let me know what else you need and I'll supply the missing information ASAP.

Thanks,

Brett

• Hi

You should read a bit about the architecture of replication.

I always think of it in 3's

Log reader agent, distribution, snapshot.

If there is nothing in the log for your specfic article then you won't get any new commands to distribute.

Try insert \ update into the table you published and you should see something happen.

Cheers

Jannie

• Hi Jannie,

Thanks for your response. The problem is that none of the objects (tables, stored procedures, etc.) are being created at the subscriber. It creates the new database but doesn't replicate any articles.

Brett

• Hi

When you setup the subscription did you click the initialize checkbox ?