SQL 2008 Enterprise to 2019 ¿Enterprise or Standard?

• Hello !!

First, let me say im not a DBA expert, and im facing a hard decision

We have a DB on SQL 2008 Enterprise. Since SQL 2008 is out of support from MS we decided to move to a newer version (2019)

My main question is:

Is there any performace difference between Standard and Enterprise? (i know the memory limitation)

I mean, if I go for standard, that version not includes features that will improve the performance of the DB?.

For example. If I have the same hardware (with 128GB of ram) the enterprise will be "faster" than standard version.

I know some of you may think, "what this guy is asking!!!" Sorry for that, im not very familiar with DB's

Im not interestend in other features only a database engine to storage data (dont care datawarehouse features, replication, cluster, etc)

If only i will storage data, there something that i will miss if I go for standard?

Hope you can help me. Diference of $$$ between two versions is high, and in 3rd world countries, that is a lot of money!

thanks a lot in advance!

• have a look at https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/sql/sql-server/editions-and-components-of-sql-server-version-15?view=sql-server-ver15

There are a few differences that can affect performance - you may or not suffer from them as it will depend on the type of usage you have - or it may be that you do get affected but with negligible differences - always hard to know.

for example standard lacks "Read-ahead" - this for a pure OLTP may not be that important - for batch/OLAP it can make a big difference, but even when it does maybe you can live with the difference vs cost.

• Thanks a lot. I will read about "Read-ahead"

This kind of info I need to make a wise choice!

• Also don't forget the changes with the cardinality estimator that where introduced in SQL2014, you will need to go over and test your queries, procedures, processed etc etc to ensure they are not affected by this change.