Shaking the Money Tree

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item Shaking the Money Tree

• Maybe it's a question of how large your company is. In the small companies I've seen, developers are expected to administrate. Admins are seen as unnecesary overhead. The same with admin tools. They're expensive and management tends to say, "Can't you just do it yourself?" The larger the company, the more the admins tend to become fixtures. Developers come and go. Since the focus goes to admins, tools that make administration efficient are better received.

• I am relatively new to IT, so my opinion is more from other areas and you may want to take it with a grain of salt. However, I think that IT development falls in the "generator" (my term) category and IT admin falls into the "maintainor" (my term) category.

"Generators" include people/groups who's work product has a quantifiable value. They include people such as salesreps, attorneys and developers. Their work product either directly generates revenue for the company, or is essential to the business. For example, software developers might deliver a product that a client is purchasing, or one that will improve a group's ability to perform their jobs. They are high-profile and often risk takers.

"Maintainors" include people/groups who's work product has a value that is not easily quantifiable. They are the grunts who perform a myriad of tasks, some of which might be mundane. Their work product is essential to continued business operations, but it is difficult to measure that value. They tend to be low-profile.

In my experience, companies generally invest the most resources (tools, salaries, etc.) in the high-profile, risk taking, "generators" who's contribution to the bottom line is easily quantifiable.

For what it's worth.

Best regards,

Dave Fulton