Replication question

• Im an Oracle DBA by trade and been tasked with setting up transaction replication in SQL Server 2014 from one host to another.

I set up a test DB, configured a publication, set up a subscriber DB, set up subscriptions and transactions are replicating.  All good to here.

In oracle we have dataguard which allows us to replicate but we need to manually flip it to active mode to query or run transactions against it.

In my replicated subscriber database in SQL Server, that doesnt seem to be the case, it seems to be open for any transactions as well as taking transactions from my publishing database..  Is there  a way that I can put it into a "standby" mode like oracles dataguard and still receive transactions so I'm in control of it?

Ive gone over documentation but not seeing anything jump out that answers.

• Unfortunately you cannot set the database to read-only as that would break the replication topology as it couldn't write to the DB.

The best you could do is to have a runbook for when you need to flip it to resolve the permissions needed.

So people would have db_datareader only on the replicated databases, then when it needs to be made active you would change that to also include db_datawriter.  That's just a general thing, how you grant permissions in your environment may be different.

You wont be able to limit people with sysadmin or db_owner on the databases, so it really does come down to ensuring proper security and least privilege needed etc

• most likely you have a few  solutions here

1. lock down the permissions on the subscriber database so that only the distribution agent can write, but everyone else has read permissions
    2. choose a different solution - back in 2005 we used mirroring with snapshots , but you have to run this in "high performance mode" which requires enterprise edition... i'm not sure if this feature still exists