refreshing excel pivot table from ssis

• my apologies if someone has already cover this but I cannot find any help on it so far.

Here's what I need to do:

I have a DTS package migrated to SSIS and this works OK.

The bigger job is an MS access app that then takes a bunch of the results (in a atble) and opens an excel spead sheet and refreshes it and then emails this.

I am new to SSIS and I believe I have to start with the DataFlow Job but not sure from this

Can someone please point out to me how I should do this - I want to keep this as simple as possible - both for me and from a maintenance point of view for the person after me

thanks

• in data flow task, you add an OLE DB source data adapter for the Access database. I think you should use then an Excel destination data adapter; you connect the Ole DB with the Excel adapter with the green arrow.

• thanks for your reply.

I didn't want to use the access app anymore and trying to replace it with an SSIS built solution.

Essentially I have a bunch of sql scripts that extract and manipulate data and it saves the results into a table in the db.

The excel sheets are pivot tables with effectivly the sql select * from tablename into a preformatted pivot template.

The refresh is just the same as if you were to open the excel spreadsheet, click the refresh ! and save the new version of the data and then email that spreadsheet.

thanks all I need to do - after running the sql updates - open a spreadsheet template and refresh the data in it and then email that refreshed excel to a bunch of users

thanks

• You may want to take a look at Reporting Services.

Greg E

• If the current solution doesn't have e-mail subscriptions, the users might be delighted to have some Reporting Services.

• thanks for your replies - I had already recommended reporting services as the best solution but for political - NOT technical reasons I am forced to try and kluge something together in SSIS, and I'm new to SSIS.