Questions about Replication Architecture

• Hi all,

This is my first time formulating a replication architecture and I am hoping that people may be able to point me in the right direction. I have two questions that i hope that you will be able to help me with:

1. I have a case where the publisher-DB is its own DB and the subscriber-DB is another DB (and at the moment, not a snapshot). The former is a complete subset of the latter and the replicated tables remain identical. There are other tables in the subscriber-DB. One may only write to the replicated tables in the subscriber by writing to the publisher DB. Transactional replication looks perfect because of the requirement to have data replicated within seconds. I have just gone through the BoL tutorials and another tutorial online. It seems that the creation of a snapshot is a necessary step. Is this so? Is it not possible to map tables between the publisher and subscriber? I have a create table script that will create the tables on both the publisher and the subscriber. Or can I expand the initial snapshot by adding on more tables?

2. The second problem is more architectural. I have a dilemma between having the two DBs on one instance (on one server) or having each DB on its own instance on the same physical server. We plan to eventually separate the two DBs but until then they share one server. These two DBs are the publisher + distributor and subscriber, btw. With the two instances, one can allocate different numbers of cores and RAM to each instance. The migration to different physical servers should also be easier because the configuration is already set for two distinct servers. The subscriber DB will be a lot more active than the publisher DB. My gut feeling is that SQL Server 2008 can manage 2 DBs better than it can 2 instances but I haven't tested it.