Query tuning

• Hi All,

I am new to query tuning.

Can you please let know the process, steps which needs to take if any body comes to us and asks, that they have a query, its running for 5 mins, and we need to tune that query so that it should complete 1 or 2 mins.

What should we need to take into the considerations.

Thank You.

Regards,
    Raghavender Chavva

• Hi

Your question is much like asking to summarize this entire forum into a few lines limited to that of a post.

However, a good start is understanding a query plan. Since you have a query you can use the plan to delve deeper.

First have a look at what all the operations mean in a query plan , this will introduce you to other concepts such as indexes , statistics and much more.

Bol is a valueble resource for this info!

Good luck!

Jannie

• Jannie-186227 (7/26/2011)

Hi

However, a good start is understanding a query plan.

Yes that is what is a good starting point.

Steps:

1. Analyse the query plan in case its a single query: Go through the query plan, identify what type of indexes are being used [clustered/non-clustered], what type of search on the indexes is being perfromed [seek, scan], what are the joins involved and what type of join algorithm is SQL Server using to resolve it, what datatypes are the comparisions being made on etc etc and the list goes on

2.In case of a batch or SPROC, execute it and run a trace on the profiler with start and end time set so that you can catch the criminal query. Then you can take that single query and do tuning.

There are some other environmental factors like , server load when the query is being run or the server by itself or the lockings involved , but these can be looked into at a later point of time.

• People have written entire books on that. Literally.

Gail Shaw
    Microsoft Certified Master: SQL Server, MVP, M.Sc (Comp Sci)
    SQL In The Wild: Discussions on DB performance with occasional diversions into recoverability