Package runs on dev, fails on server

• I'm kind of new at this, so please bear with me. If I haven't included enough information, I'll be happy to supply additional details.

So, I have developed three packages, each of which connects to a different off-site SQL server and updates databases in our local server. All three validate and run in debug mode on my development machine with no errors. Two of the three also run fine on the server. But one of them fails validation with a series of error messages related to the remote server connection. (See attachment.)

The local server is running SQL Server 2014, so I targeted that version with my packages, although I'm actually using 2017 as my development environment. I'm using the project deployment model and using EncryptSensitiveWithUserKey protection level. On the server, I'm deploying to an Integration Services Catalog. My understanding is in this environment my passwords will automatically be converted on the server. And, as I said, it is working for 2 of the 3 packages.

Any assistance in troubleshooting this issue would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.
  • I think the clue might be in "login timeout expired" - normally you get that when a firewall or DNS issue stops you from resolving the server name… not normally login credentials, which tend to bounce you out almost straight away

if it's one of the 3 packages that is failing, is there something about the server that it is connecting to?

I'd need more info to figure this out

MVDBA

• Thanks for that helpful response, Mike. It makes sense that it seems like a DNS or firewall issue between the local SQL Server and the remote one. So I tested this theory by running a PowerShell script on the local SQL Server and was able to connect to the remote server and retrieve some data using the same credentials. So there appears to be no issue with the two servers communicating with each other.