Order Database Design

• Hi.  I have a question for all of you related to the best way to design a database that will be used to process orders.  I have an Order Master table along with an Order Details table.  I use OrderId in the master table as my PK and also store it in the Order Details table as the FK.  My PK in the Order Details table is an identity field.  In addition, I have a Line Number field, indicating the number of lines per order.  Every time I've designed an order db or been exposed to an order db, line numbers were always stored. 

The application developer says that the line number is redundant data and does not want to deal with the overhead required to determine the line number.  I can think of a couple of ways that she can do this without it being too big of a deal.  However, if she is correct, and this is redundant data, I would rather remove it from the database.

My question: Is the practice that I follow of including line numbers within the order details table a solid practice or am I just creating more work?

Thanks in advance for you help.

Cathy

• Pardon me for this, but I am practicing to be a consultant: It depends.  Since you are using an identity field in the OrderDetail table, the LineNumber column could be considered redundent.  The other side of the coin, however, is that the combination of OrderNumber/LineNumber could be used as either the Primary Key (instead of the identity field) or as an Alternate Key for the table (This would be another Unique index).

You also need to look at it from the perspective of the Customer.  If I order several items from your company, how do I identify each item on the order, by the product or the line item?  What if I order the same item twice, but manage to have each item listed seperately on the order (if possible)?  Personally, I would prefer to have the LineNumber as part of the OrderDetail table.