Opening a sql database using access

• I've deployed a .Net application for a client, the application uses a SQL server 2005 database and the scenario goes as such

1- the user used an odbc connection to connect to database on the Remote SQL server

2- the application runs fine and the user has read and write permissions on the database

3- the user opens a new access database and select an external data, by linking to the data source by creating a linked table

4- the user select the available ODBC machine data source

5- the user is able to open the database tables and edits the values in the database directly

this is a major security threat, and we need to disallow the user from connecting to the database using odbc, but to use the database from the application functionality. How can this be done

Thank you,

• Well, I have no real experience in this but in general I would create a SQL Server login using SQL Server authentication and use this information in your connection string. A direct connection to the database shouldn't be possible any more if access is restricted to this login only. :Whistling:

I'm sure there are much better and professional ways to prevent the situation you described.

This link might give some better ideas:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ff648340.aspx

Here a great site for connection strings:

http://www.connectionstrings.com/sql-server-2005

• Ozzy,

You need to create & set three startup properties for the Access database:

StartupShowDBWindow = False

AllowSpecialKeys = False

AllowBypassKey = False

this will prevent the user from accessing the database window & editing the tables. The user will only be able to do what the application provides for them to do.

You might want to test this with a copy of the database.

• WILLIAM MITCHELL (11/24/2010)

Ozzy,

You need to create & set three startup properties for the Access database:

StartupShowDBWindow = False

AllowSpecialKeys = False

AllowBypassKey = False