One Rule, Umpteen Constraints

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item One Rule, Umpteen Constraints

Best wishes,
    Phil Factor

• But.... that makes sense! We can't have none of that 'round here'! Perhaps you'll then be wanting a good data dictionary so that you could define elements in one place and use them throughout your schema in a standardized fashion.

You're mad, I tell you, Phil! MAD!!!! 😛

(and I must edit to add: my 1,000th post!)

-----
    [font="Arial"]Knowledge is of two kinds. We know a subject ourselves or we know where we can find information upon it. --Samuel Johnson[/font]

• Hi,

I have been a database developer for only two years. I have had a number of instances where I would like to define rules so for precisely the reasons that you have stated, but have not done so because of the warning given by MS that it is deprecated. I use SQL Server 2008 and 2008 R2. If rules are still available in 2014, then I may as well go ahead and use them and save myself a bunch of work. By the time my organisation gets around to SQL Server 2014 or beyond, I will be long gone!

• I have used SQL Server for quite a while now (first used v7 in 1999 for anyone interested) and did not know of the existance of RULEs. Possibly this was due to the preferences of the SQL Server mentors that I had early on or just (mis)fortune what I have read.

I have always wanted to define types with more rigour than just an alias. So it turns out that it was there all along but might be gone anytime from the next version. Although the liklihood of that occurring is probably minimal I could not justify starting to use a feature that has already been deprecated. Shame really.

Gaz

-- Stop your grinnin' and drop your linen...they're everywhere!!!

• Unfortunately, the computer industry is full of organisations that suffer from NIH (not invented here) syndrome.