Newbie; Unsure where to Start?

• Hi,  First time poster, and hoping everyone goes easy on me.

I am very new at SQL Server, just getting my feet wet and really not even sure where to start and hoping some of you vets here can help a newbie get up and running a little bit.

My underlying goal/project at the moment is take an existing PowerPivot Model and load/deploy that into SQL Server.  Then to connect to the Model in Excel and begin using Pivot Tables, Cube Formula's, etc.

I am currently doing everything on a local Windows 10 Machine.  But I will later attempt to try and install SQL server in a Ubuntu VM on my home server at a later point, and eventually possibly an aws instance.

From my readings, I should be installing SQL Server 2019 in Tabular mode correct?   But when I installed SQL Server, I do not see this option anywhere, and possibly the default install is already Tabular Mode?

I also installed VS Studio 19, as well as the Microsoft.DataTools.AnalysisServices.vsix addin.   I was then able to create a project and import my Power Pivot Model.

I also have installed SSMS 18.  Here I do see my SQL Server and can connect it.  The server name is "PCNAME\SQLEXPRESS"

Back in VSStudio, in the projects settings, I did set the deployment server to be the server name.   However, I did notice the edition defaults to 'Developer' and do not see an Express option.

I also created a Database in SSMS and then changed the name in Projects Properties to use that database.  But unsure if when you deploy, you need an existing database or when deploying it will create it for you.

After all the above, when I do try and deploy I appear to always get a connection error of:

Severity Code Description Project File Line Suppression State

Error Cannot deploy metadata. Reason: An error occurred while connecting to the server.

So in starting to learn more, am I even going in the right direction?

Thank you,

PT

• Welcome to the world of SQL Server.